About Us

Our Vision

It is the vision of the Monroe County Business Development Corporation (BDC) that the community​ will thrive as a result of  a diversified business​ and industrial base that provides capital​ investment and quality jobs.​

​Our Mission

The Monroe County BDC is a non-profit organization that attracts and retains a diverse range of businessand industry by leading initiatives that createan environment for economic growth.


The Monroe County BDC is a private, non-profit 501(c)(3) organization. Our Board of Directors consists of some of the area’s top leaders, including representatives from manufacturing, banking, utilities and local government.

Funding for the organization is based primarily on the generous contributions of numerous area businesses. These private sector contributions make up our largest funding source. Additionally, several local units of government and grant administration money support our operation.


Formed in 1982 by several area business people, the Monroe County BDC is charged with improving the local economy by actively supporting the business base.

Indeed, the accomplishments of the Monroe County BDC  have been substantial. Firms of all sizes located in all corners of the county have benefited from Monroe County BDC’s services. The resulting job creation and private investment have greatly expanded the local economy.

Beyond direct assistance to companies, the Monroe County BDC has championed efforts to support future economic growth. Since 1982, the Monroe County BDC has helped to lead the development of nine new industrial parks throughout the county. This investment in infrastructure bodes well for continued private investment in our community for years to come.

We are proud of our past accomplishments and look forward to many more years of serving the business community.

Board of Directors

H. Douglas Chaffin

President & CEO | Monroe Bank & Trust


Gregory Adanin

President & CEO | Ventower Industries


Carolyn Bennett

Economic Development | DTE Energy


Vince Bodiford

President & Publisher | Monroe News


Robert Clark

Mayor | City of Monroe


Nick Krzeminski

Manager Community Relations Economic Development | Michigan Gas Company


Bart Kulish

President | MTS Seating


Dr. Stephen McNew

Superintendent | Monroe County Intermediate School District

Vice Chairman

Gregory Meyer

Public Affairs Area Manager | Consumers Energy


Michael Miller

President | Floral City Beverage


Dr. Kojo Quartey

President | Monroe County Community College


Richard Sieb

Owner | Sieb Plumbing & Heating


Dan Schwanke

President | ProMedica Monroe Regional Hospital


Ron Sweat

President | Plumbers & Pipefitters Local 671


Greg Thomas

Production Manager | Fluid Equipment Development Company (FEDCO)


Charles West

Executive VP | Patriot Group Construction


Gary Wilmoth

Board of Commissioners | Monroe County



Staff to the Organization

Tim C. Lake

President & CEO

LuAnn Hogberg

Communications / Operations